ORC week 8 – the final terrazzo bathroom reveal!!

How has 8 weeks of the one room challenge flown by so quickly?! Somebody tell me!! I’m so excited to be sharing with you my extreme bathroom reveal! I’ve never done a project of this size and intricacy before so this is a big accomplishment for me. I’ve done so much new things with the spaced and learned so much along the way.

Before you keeping scrolling, check out the previous week’s blogs if you haven’t already: week 1, week 2, week 3, week 4, week 5, week 6, week 7.

WHERE WE LEFT OFF

Last week y’all gave me so much love on the terrazzo countertops – THANK YOU! This week we tackled some finishing touches and the accent wall paint. I used painted and primed MDF strips to finish off the raw edges of the tile on top of tile that I did.

I also siliconed and caulked ALL the edges in the bathroom which was ALOT!

I made the last minute decision of forgoing my initial board and batten wall idea and went with a simple horizontal chair rail trim instead. After I saw the bathroom so far, I wanted something more simple that wouldn’t overtake the current details. I’m super happy with how this turned out! It just goes to show that you have to be flexible in your plans!

The colour of the wall accent is Raffia Cream by BEHR and I love it so much in this space!

I made some wooden towel hooks and a wooden toilet paper holder with some scrap wood. I love the rounded edges and how these turned out!

Lastly, I made a super simple bathtub tray with a piece of 2×4!

THE BEFORE

Remember what the bathroom looked like before?? It was grey-blue in colour and just had no warmth or love put into it.

Now let’s recap what we did over the last 8 weeks:

  • Spray paint shower and bath fixtures gold
  • Tile over existing shower and bath tile, including waterproofing layer
  • DIY wooden frame for shell-shaped mirror
  • Upgraded new vanity light and new sink faucet
  • DIY terrazzo epoxy countertops from DIY paint chips
  • Trimmed out the tile over existing tile
  • Half painted accent wall
  • DIY wood details: towel hooks, toilet paper holder, tub tray
  • Decorating and styling
  • Still to come: DIY wood arched shelf for the toilet

A reminder of the mood board I made in the beginning!

this was the inspiration – a couple of things changed along the way but I think overall it was executed well!

THE FINAL REVEAL

Thank you SO much for being here on this journey with me. Although stressful at times, I really enjoyed the experience. It definitely won’t be the last ORC for me! Don’t forget to check out the ORC blog here because there are so many great reveals.

NOTE: I will be finishing off that arched wooden shelf and will be updating this post when I do so. Follow me on instagram to get all the updates!

Lizzy

ADDENDUM – THE ARCH SHELF IS COMPLETE!

Here we are, one week later and the bathroom is now complete complete! Over the last week, I’ve been working hard to finish the last project I had in mind – my arched shelf to go above the toilet aka distract people from the toilet.

I’m going to keep it short in this blog post so I won’t go into details on how I made this shelf. If you’re interested, leave me a comment and I can do a whole separate post on it.

THE FINAL FINAL REVEAL

Ok that’s it! What a frickin journey this ORC was. Thanks so much for following along!

Lizzy

One thought on “ORC week 8 – the final terrazzo bathroom reveal!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started