*FREE* DIY Wooden Headboard

A few years ago my dad texted me a pile of scrap 2×4 studs and asked if I wanted it. I said obviously! They were a little bit banged up and had some constructions nails in them that I had to pry out, but I turned it into a headboard that it still one of my favourite projects to date!

The pieces of wood were all different lengths so I had play some tetris and go with this staggered look which I actually really love. After piecing it all together and securing it with glue as well as two vertical strips of wood in the back, I gave it a good sand and stained it. The stain is Golden Oak by Minwax which is one of my favs!

I wanted to incorporate some sort of beside lighting into the headboard and I found some inexpensive sconces from Walmart Canada that are no longer available. They are hardwired sconces but it’s very easy to changed a hardwired sconce into a plug in sconce. Here’s an article explaining it!

And there you have it, my truly “reclaimed wood” headboard for minimal cost. Thanks for reading!

Lizzy

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started